Top of the Stops!

Top of the Stops! (MP4 Film)

Watch a Preview on YouTube

Top of the Stops!  
(MP4 Film)

Thomas Heywood 

The 1929 Grand Organ
St Peter’s Cathedral
Adelaide • South Australia

Enjoy Thomas Heywood performing some of the greatest classical music of all time, and some of the greatest organ music of all time, in this gala tour de force on the renowned 1929 Grand Organ in St Peter’s Cathedral, Adelaide, South Australia – the glorious 4-manual ‘sister organ’ to the Grand Concert Organ in the Melbourne Town Hall.

Watch over two hours with the 'acknowledged master' as you are taken on an illustrated tour of the Concert Organ tradition with 'legendary' performances on one of the finest musical instruments in the southern hemisphere.

In addition to lavish views showing the amazing variety of pipes and the complex workings of the organ behind the facade, see the inner mechanism of the historic 4-manual organ console as never before - at the time of filming it was the largest example of its kind left anywhere in the world.

Program highlights include: 

Mozart’s Overture to The Magic Flute 
Bach’s famous Double Violin Concerto
Schubert’s ‘Unfinished’ Symphony 
The Swan from The Carnival of the Animals 
Vivaldi’s Concerto in A minor (arranged by Bach) 
Dvořák’s Humoreske 
Guilmant’s complete Sonata No. 5 in C minor 
And much more! 

Full Program: 

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, transcribed by W.T. Best
Overture to The Magic Flute

Antonio Vivaldi, trans. Johann Sebastian Bach
Concerto in A minor, Op. 3 No. 8 [Concerto No. 2, BWV 593]

Hector Berlioz, trans. W.T. Best
Hungarian March 'Rakoczy' from The Damnation of Faust, Op. 24

Franz Schubert, trans. J. Stuart Archer
Symphony No. 8 - 'The Unfinished', D. 759

Sir Edward Elgar, trans. Edwin H. Lemare
Military March No. 1 in D from the ’Pomp and Circumstance’ Military Marches, Op. 39

Camille Saint-Saëns, trans. Alexandre Guilmant
The Swan from The Carnival of the Animals

Alexandre Guilmant
Sonata No. 5 in C minor, Op. 80

Johann Sebastian Bach, trans. Thomas Heywood
Concerto for Two Violins in D minor (1st mvt), BWV 1043

Four pieces by Edwin H. Lemare
  i.  Concertstück (In the form of a Tarantella), Op. 90
 ii.  Rondo Capriccio (A Study in Accents), Op. 64
iii.  Canzonetta [in B minor], Op. 70
iv.  Toccata di Concerto, Op. 59

Antonín Dvořák, trans. Edwin H. Lemare
Humoreske, Op. 101 No. 7